T-shirt skirt

I like to volunteer for a few anime conventions in the Northwest and one of them is Kumoricon- https://www.kumoricon.org/

As a volunteer, you get a special staff shirt that looks different than the shirts that are sold to the attendees. After doing it for multiple years, I end up with too many staff shirts!

So I take my scissors to them! And here’s what I did.

Tee shirt skirt 02I cut the t-shirts up a while ago and I sadly didn’t take ‘before’ pictures. What I did was draft a pattern piece (yay for tracing paper!) that looked like a long trapezoid. I centered it over the design and cut away. I cut out 4 pieces and I made the pattern piece a trapezoid so the skirt would flare out while wearing. I used the hems of the shirts to also be the hem of the skirt and because not all the shirts were the same size, not all the the final pieces were the same length, which is ok because I like uneven hemmed skirts (I love handkerchief hems and hi-lo hems).

Then I stitched the 4 pieces together and added the waistband. I actually grabbed the waistband pattern and elastic instructions from Simplicity 3640.

Simplicity 3640Why reinvent the wheel when I can grab it from a pattern?

The patches were other designs that were on the shirt that I cut out and then hand-stitched to the skirt.

I’m so happy with the results. I can’t wait to wear it at the next Kumoricon!

Tee shirt skirt 03Tee shirt skirt 01

2 thoughts on “T-shirt skirt

Leave a Reply

